DIY Dinosaur Toothbrush Holder

Although I’m a senior in college, I have an unhealthy addiction to kid’s crafts…like a newborn vegan trying to resist the smells from a steakhouse kitchen.

Hey man, I can’t help it! You KNOW you miss recess, nap time and snacks!

(totally feel like I didn’t appreciate those like I should’ve)

But I’m getting off track.

Craft mania usually occurs in my world when the following are combined:

  • Pinterest
  • Free time
  • Unquenchable thirst for crafts
  • $1

I came across this neat idea and immediately went out hunting for supplies. Lacking a drill, I had to get a bit crafty (haha so punny) but it came out EPIC nonetheless! And on top of that, it became one of the most functional, successful, COOL Pinterest projects I’ve ever done!

Dinosaur Toothbrush Holder

20131019_165445

What you’ll need:

  • Plastic toy dinosaur
  • Hammer
  • Screwdriver
  • Scissors
  • A toothbrush

I found my plastic dinosaur at Wal-Mart in the kid’s aisle for $1! They had a lot to choose from, like a Stegasaurus, T-Rex, Triceratops, and a few others, but I swooned for the Brontosaurus. 🙂

Instructions:

1. Place the screwdriver in the middle of your dino’s back and tap the top with the hammer until you poke a hole through. Keep hammering until you get through to the other side.

dino1

20131019_165817

2. The hole is skinny, so grab your scissors (I used a baby pair–easier to maneuver) and cut a cross pattern in the hole. From there, cut out the mini triangles from the cross until you create a circle. dino2 dino3

3. Shape the hole until it fits your toothbrush. Sidenote: it’s better to make the hole a bit bigger than your toothbrush; if it’s too small your brush will never come back out.

4. Put it on your bathroom countertop and enjoy your prehistoric bathroom buddy!!

IMG_20131019_171404

It’s so fun and so easy! Hope you enjoy it as much as I did!

Now…. to try to resist the calls of Pinterest for a few more days hours minutes. 😉

13 Comments

  1. Pingback: 16 Crafts For Every Animal Lover - Myeva for Healthcare, Skin care & Beauty

  2. Pingback: 7 Last Minute Kindergeschenke für DIY Helden | kandatsu

  3. Pingback: 14 Amazing Dollar Store DIY Projects For You To Try

  4. I have an easier way to make the hole in the dinosaur and it will give it smoother edges. Take a piece of pipe (SS per metal) or if you do not have a piece of pipe a metal skewer. Heat one end of the pipe and then press it through the dinosaur. The heat from the metal will melt through the plastic and give you a smoother finish. If you use a small skewer you will press it through the dinosaur and slowly move it in a circle to create the diameter you need. You may have to heat the skew a few times to get the whole big enough.

  5. Pingback: Summer Blockbusters: A Jurassic World of Dinosaur Crafts

  6. I have been to Walmart many times and looked at the Dinosaurs and I haven’t seen any good size Dinosaurs for a $ 1.00.
    The big ones there are 10 to 20 dollars. ;(
    Maybe I will check at the Dollar Stores. I love this project. So cute

Chitter Chatter

