No-Fuss Mexican Rice

I think I have Mexican in my blood.

But since I’m whiter than sour cream, I blame osmosis.

Funny Cat Undergoes Osmosis Picture

Growing up in Dallas and going to college in South Texas (basically 2 hours from the border), I’ve definitely been exposed to more Mexican culture than the average Joe.

And with Mexican culture, comes Mexican food.

As a kid, I never thought twice about seeing jillions of local, authentic Mexican restaurants. Or the fact that fajita and taco ingredients were always dirt cheap at the grocery. I just figured it was everywhere. But now, whenever I travel, I’m shocked to see how much people go BONKERS for Tex-Mex.

You could say I was plopped in the wrong part of the country, because I’m genuinely not a fan of Mexican food. *enter gasps*

Yep, fellow-Texans, shun me now. The spice, intensity, saltiness; it just never got along with my tastebuds.

BUT, I do have one exception.

Mexican rice.

Oh man, I could live off that stuff. And when it’s made true to Mexican standards? My kryptonite.

So when I started getting a hankering for some, I decided I wanted to try to make my own. I started looking into recipes and realized how intricate the process actually is! I’m about the laziest kitchen bum ever, so of course I wanted to try to recreate genuine Mexican rice with the least amount of effort. 😉

After some trial and error, I managed to come up with a no-fuss, rice cooker recipe that’s insanely close in taste to the real deal! So, if you’re a lazy chef, lacking lots of kitchen equipment, or just a fan of Mexican food, this recipe has your name written all over it! Enjoy! 🙂

Easy Rice Cooker Mexican Rice

YES2 - Copy

Easy Rice Cooker Mexican Rice

(gluten free, inspired by this awesome recipe)

Ingredients:

  • 88g (~3/4 cup) uncooked white rice
  • 1 small jalapeno pepper
  • 1-2 garlic cloves chopped (taste preference)
  • 1 cup frozen fajita vegetable blend (onion, green bell pepper, red bell pepper)
  • 2 tablespoons tomato paste
  • Salt/seasoning to taste
  • 1 cup water

ingredients

Instructions:

1. Dice bell peppers, onions, jalapeno and garlic. Take seeds out of jalapenos if you want less heat.

chop

2. Pour rice and water into rice cooker.

20130925_141452

3. Dump in tomato paste, salt, and vegetables directly into rice cooker. Stir well.

stir

4. Turn on rice cooker and let cook according to your machine’s instructions.

5. When rice cooker finishes, leave rice in machine for a few minutes to cool off a tad.

6. Pour into a container or directly onto your plate. Fluff it up with a fork and enjoy!

YES - Copy

4 Comments

  1. This looks delicious! YUM. I know what you mean about being plunked in the wrong part of the country! Pierogies and kielbasa are SUPER popular in Pittsburgh, and they’re just “meh” to my tastebuds. Now, Indian food? I LOVE THAT STUFF haha. I know exactly what ya mean!

  2. Just seeing you hold that jalapeno makes my taste buds quiver in fear! I am the BIGGEST wimp when it comes to spicy, so I will def be on the “remove the seeds if you want less heat” train. 🙂 This looks so delicious! I’m proud of you for embracing your osmosed Mexican blood!

Chitter Chatter

