Pinterest Kidnapped Me…Again

After classes yesterday, I got in a crafty mood.

Cold front + free time + pj’s + Pinterest = Craft bonanza!

I came across this cool project and immediately fell in love. A serving tray covered in constellations?!?! SIGN ME UP!
Seeing it felt like “parachute day” during gym in kindergarten–you know the magical, rainbow-colored, circular chunk of parachute that everyone would run under with squealing laughter? You gotta admit those were the best days at school. 😀
Anyway! Back to the craft!
I’ve always been intrigued by the night sky–it’s just so magical, humbling and awe-inspiring. Needless to say, I couldn’t wait to make it! I was lacking some of the materials in the original craft, so improvised, but it turned out just as awesome.
~~~~

DIY Galactic Serving Tray

DSC_0234

Materials Needed:
  • Sharpies
  • Cross-section wood slice (I found mine at Hobby Lobby for $6)
  • Picture of the constellation(s) you want to copy (I chose Orion and Leo)
  • Tunes to jam to while you create your masterpiece (I went with Katy Perry’s Prism album heehee)

DSC_0228

Instructions:

1. Sketch the constellation pattern on your wood slice with a pencil

DSC_0230

2. Grab your sharpies and trace over your pencil markings lightly. Don’t press too hard or the sharpie may bleed beyond your intended path.

DSC_0231

3. All that’s left to do–stand back and admire your new work of art!

DSC_0235

Hope you have as much fun as I did! Enjoy!

~~~~

I mustache you a question: what’s your favorite constellation? 🙂

6 Comments

  1. AHH so awesome, I am totally going to craft today! I have the day off and have been wanting to make a Pinterest craft and you’ve given me the push! I love Cassiopeia, for the name and because it was always easiest for me to find as a kid. YES to the parachute..just yes.

  2. This is AWESOME! When I was roadtrip-ing out West, we camped every night and got some of the most spectacular views of the night sky. It was so fun to pick out the constellations we knew and learn about the ones we didn’t. My favorite is Ursa major. We never got to see him, but I just love that bear!

Chitter Chatter

