The GF Equivalent of Cloud Nine

Today, I thought I’d change things up and post a review of one of my favorite new-to-me products. I guess I have to live up to the “Gluten Free” chunk of this blog every once in awhile šŸ˜‰

So I found some of these Glutino Blueberry bars newly on sale at my local grocery store…

20131004_143640

Ever since my Celiac-onset, I’ve been on the hunt for a gluten-free replacement to quell my cravings for a Nutrigrain bar. Those things are straight up heaven, am I right? These looked extremely promising, so I decided to bite the bullet and buy a box. Best decision EVER.

bar

Taste: Identical, and I mean identical to a Nutrigrain bar. The blueberry flavor is spot on, just like fresh picked berries orĀ homemade blueberry jam!

Texture: The fruit filling was creamy and soft and the bar itself is reminiscient of a fresh baked cookie–very soft and doughy. It isn’t crumbly or cardboard-y in the least, like most other gluten free attempts at breakfast items.

Smell: Fresh blueberries! AMAZING! When heated, it smelled like oatmeal raisin cookies in the oven!

Gluten-filled counterpart: Nutrigrain CerealĀ Bars

Price: $4.50-$5.00 a box

Nutrition: Low fat (only 2 grams per bar) and not too shabby on the fiber for a gluten free product (3g). The sugars are a bit high at 17g per bar, even if some are from the berries themselves, but besides that, they’reĀ a pretty healthy option for an on-the-go snack.

bar2

Ingredients: BLUEBERRY FILLING (SUGAR, APPLE POWDER [DRIED APPLES, CALCIUM STEARATE], WHITE GRAPE JUICE CONCENTRATE, GLYCERIN, BLUEBERRIES, WATER, CORN STARCH, CANOLA OIL, CITRIC ACID, SODIUM ALGINATE, MALIC ACID, DICALCIUM PHOSPHATE, DRIED CITRUS PULP, SODIUM CITRATE, CARROT AND BLUEBERRY JUICE, SODIUM HEXAMETAPHOSPHATE, NATURAL FLAVOR), CHICK PEA FLOUR, POTATO STARCH, FRUCTOSE, PEAR JUICE CONCENTRATE, RAISIN PASTE, INULIN, CANOLA OIL, TAPIOCA STARCH, WHITE RICE FLOUR, WATER, SODIUM BICARBONATE.

Overall: Delicious! While a bit pricy, I have definitely made these a staple in my pantry. As an athlete looking for gluten free sources of carbs, I find this to be a wonderful option that not only meets those requirements, but tastes superb! You’ve knocked it out of the ballpark with this one, Glutino!

20130925_204819

Have you ever tried these bars? What’s your favorite flavor of Nutrigrain bar?

DISCLAIMER: All reviews are solely my opinion. I was not paid or compensated in any way to speak of the products featured, unless otherwise noted. All reviews are objective and for general information purposes only. The thoughts and opinions expressed are intended to help and inform people looking for information on vacation locations and gluten free food items.

5 Comments

  1. These are the perfect alternative to Nutrigrain bars! I was obsessed with those as a little kid, and I used to like the Kashi version but now that I’m vegan and mostly gluten free, I’ll have to check these out because I miss those bars a lot.

  2. I’m glad you found a spot-on alternative to Nutri Grain! I hate how gluten-free products are so pricey, and how “gluten-filled” products are dirt cheap. The disproportionality is insane :(!

  3. The kids I babysit eat Nutrigrain bars for a snack during the evening and I love being teleported back to childhood when I get to snack on one with them! So glad you found a GF alternative that tastes awesome!! My fave flavor is probably Strawberry or Apple Cinnamon. YUM!

Chitter Chatter

