DIY Safari Necklace Rack

Warning: This post contains slight toy carnage. If you have any plastic animals in your midst, you may want to tell them to look away.

This was hands down THE coolest Pinterest project I’ve ever made.

Yes, ever.

Even more than the dinosaur toothbrush holder.

DSC_0043

The weather was extremely chilly this past weekend, almost unheard of in South Texas–45 degrees for a high? With wind chills in the 20’s? What is this wizardry?! So I cooped up in my apartment and decided to study/make crafts. When I came across this “Plastic Animal Craft Ideas” link on Pinterest, I immediately knew what I wanted to create.

A Safari-Themed Necklace Rack!

DSC_0007

What You’ll Need:

  • Fancy sanded wood board (I found mine at Hobby Lobby for $6)
  • Gorilla glue
  • Acrylic paints
  • Paintbrushes
  • Knife or mini-saw
  • Plastic animals
  • Hardware for hanging (found mine at Hobby Lobby for $1.99)
  • Optional: glitter, glossy paint, stickers, other decorations

DSC_0001

Instructions:

1. Paint your wood board whatever color your heart desires. I went for black with a lime green polka dot trim 🙂

DSC_0015

2. Attach the wall hanging hardware to the back of your woodpiece once it’s dry.

DSC_0045

2. Carefully cut your chosen animals in half with a knife or mini saw. I used a very sharp kitchen knife and, although it was an arm workout, it wasn’t too hard.

YIKES chopchop

3. Paint and/or decorate your animals. It took me 3-4 coats of paint for most of them, so if you want to speed up the drying process, you could use the cool setting on a hair dryer.

DSC_0032

4. Once dry, superglue your animal halves onto your wood. Make sure they’re super dry before proceeding. I let mine dry overnight to be safe.

DSC_0036

5. Hang on the wall and enjoy!

DSC_0051 DSC_0052

Isn’t it awesome?!?! You can hang necklaces, lanyards, keys, you name it. All while enjoying a little smile from animals 🙂

What’s so great about this craft is that the possibilities are ENDLESS. Paint colors, wood shape, animal types, glitter–so many options! Also, I went with the front halves of the animals, but you could use the butts! I have other animals and saved my animal butts to make something else one day mwahaha

DSC_0038I can’t wait to brainstorm what to make next! 🙂

What’s your favorite zoo animal? Mine is hands down an okapi!! I love them SO MUCH!

7 Comments

  1. Girl, you seriously make me miss the crafty days of my youth SO.DARN.MUCH. I used to make things like this all the time when I was younger, but my motivation to create seemed to die off as I got older 😦 Send some of your creativity my way? 😀

    Also… I miss those plastic animal toys! I used to have SO many of them.

  2. I. love. this! I love the polka dots you painted on the giraffe and elephant, too! This is so cute and so YOU! Okapi’s are so incredible, but I have always had a soft spot in my heart for giraffes. I think it is because we could feed them at a wildlife park that was close to my house growing up!

Chitter Chatter

