Chocolate PB and PB Fudge Fat Bombs

Fat bombs.

The initial mental picture of that word combination may be disturbing, but I assure you, there’s no need to flee from this blog post! In fact, fat bombs are far from an exploding pile of lard; they are a delicious, healthy treat!

https://i1.wp.com/c85c7a.medialib.glogster.com/media/30/307e134305343d546b667fb4a733c0be2016f3203390903ea8e287ecd5be1d6b/funny-pictures-of-dogs-cat-bomb.jpg

So a little background: I find that my body functions best on a “carb backloading” style diet which involves high fat/low carb meals during the early portion of the day and high carb/low fat meals at night in order to refill my glycogen stores for weightlifting the next morning. Usually, I eat the majority of my carbs post workout, dinner, and in my before bed snack, so for lunch, I like to eat a lot of fats and protein.

Looking for some new high fat recipes, I came across the concept of “fat bombs” on a Paleo/Keto diet forum thanks to Pinterest. (What would I do without that site?!) The concept: a low-volume, fat-loaded rocket that can be eaten as a snack or as an addition to a meal in order to hit your daily fat recommendations. Low volume, high in healthy fats, and supposedly taste like fudgy Reese’s cups?! COUNT ME IN!

So I did some experimenting with ingredients and hit the jackpot. My body doesn’t digest fats very well, so when I find something that doesn’t make me lethargic and queasy, I hold onto it for dear life! These fat bombs have been a Godsend. I make them every day and they make a delicious addition to lunch! And another plus? They genuinely taste like FUDGE!!

peanut butter fat bombThese are my two “go-to” fat bombs, but they’re super customizable, so feel free to change around the ingredient amounts to suit your tastebuds! You could try different nut butters, add spices…the possibilities are endless.

Also, I use ghee (clarified butter) in these recipes, but feel free to use regular butter. Since I have dairy issues, I find my digestive system handles ghee much better because all trace amounts of lactose are removed in the clarification process. It’s also a pretty awesome food since it aids in vitamin absorption and is high in butyric acid. To learn more about the health benefits of ghee, you can read here.

Anywho! Prepare yourselves to be converted to the dark side that is Fat Bombs! 😀

Chocolate Peanut Butter Fat Bombs

(keto, gluten free)

fat bomb ingredientsIngredients:

  • 18g Ghee (or butter)
  • 13g 100% cacao unsweetened chocolate
  • 38g Peanut Butter (or any nut butter)
  • 18g Extra Virgin Coconut Oil

Instructions:

  1. Place all ingredients in a microwave safe bowl.
  2. Nuke in microwave for about 1:30 until you get a melted consistency.
  3. Stir well until no clumps remain.
  4. Pour into silicon cupcake molds and place in freezer for 10-20 minutes or until solid. Keep in fridge or eat immediately!

Makes one serving: 63g fat / 11g carbs/ 10g protein / 5g fiber

(Also, you could keep the peanut butter out and place it into the center of the chocolate mixture after it’s been poured into the silicon cups. That way, you can have a peanut butter center, like a Reese’s!)

chocolate PB fat bombs

~~~~~~~

Peanut Butter Fudge Fat Bombs

(keto, gluten free)

PB fat bombsIngredients:

  • 22g Ghee (or butter)
  • 46g Peanut Butter (or any nut butter)
  • 10g Extra Virgin Coconut Oil

Instructions:

  1. Place all ingredients in a microwave safe bowl.
  2. Nuke in microwave for about 1:30….
  3. …Until you get a melted consistency
  4. Stir well until no clumps remain.
  5. Pour into silicon cupcake molds.
  6. Place in freezer for 10-20 minutes or until solid.
  7. Keep in fridge or eat immediately!

Makes one serving: 57g fat / 9g carb / 10g protein / 3g fiber

PB fat bombs (1) PB fat bombs (2)

Both of these recipes make 2-3 fat bombs, depending on how big your silicon molds are and how large you want them. They are very rich, buttery and will make your mouth water. You’d never know they’re actually healthy for you! 😀 I hope you enjoy them as much as I do!

Chitter Chatter

