Kangaroo Sweet Potato Chili

Wait. I know what you’re thinking. KANGAROO MEAT?!?! HUH?!!?!?!

Yes my friends. The delicious, nutritious kangaroo. What can I say, exotic food owns a piece of my soul 😀

I first tasted this tastebud-tingling delicacy in Australia (although it was in filet steak form) and my tastebuds haven’t been the same since. I love the stuff!! When my local Sprouts grocery store started carrying exotic meats, and my eyes stumbled upon “roo” peeking out from underneath some wild boar, I went baboon crazy. The ground meat is a little different from the steak version I had Down Under, but it’s still tasty nonetheless!

Kangaroo also has a lot of health benefits including:

  • Low in fat and high in protein with macros similar to chicken or other lean poultry
  • Low in saturated fats
  • Contains CLA which has antioxidant properties
  • Rich source of iron and zinc
  • Source of several B-group vitamins, namely riboflavin, niacin, Vitamin B6 and Vitamin B12

My dad is a big fan of the meat as well, so I thought I’d make him something other than the usual hamburger patty.

So, I give you chili. Yes, chili in the midst of a hot Texas summer haha Guess you’ll just need some ice cream to cool off afterwards 😉

Feel free to add other vegetables or sub in your favorite ground meat. Enjoy!

~~~~

Kangaroo Sweet Potato Chili

(adapted from this recipe)

kangaroo chili close-up

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb ground kangaroo meat (could sub beef, chicken, turkey etc)
  • 1/2 tsp. sea salt
  • 1/4 tsp. black pepper
  • 3 tbsp. cooking oil
  • 3/4-1 tsp. garlic salt (or 3 garlic cloves)
  • 1 cup diced baby carrots
  • 1 large sweet potato, peeled and cubed
  • 2 tsp. spice blend (pictured below)
  • 2-2 1/4 cups water (or chicken stock)

kangaroo chili ingredients

seasoning

Instructions:

1. Brown kangaroo meat in a pot and drain off extra grease. Season with salt and pepper.

2. In a large saucepan, heat oil over medium-high heat and add garlic salt and carrots. Saute until semi-softened.

3. Add ground kangaroo meat with spices, stir well.

4. Add in sweet potato cubes and water.

kangaroo chili process

5. Cover mixture and bring to a boil, then lower heat to medium/simmer and cook covered for 15 minutes or until sweet potato cubes are soft.

kangaroo chili

6. Serve on top of rice, or accompanied with chips, cheese, sour cream, or whatever your heart desires! 🙂

Enjoy!!

8 Comments

  1. One paragraph above the recipe, you said “So, I give you chili” but I received no chili. Only a chili recipe. 😛 (I’m so sorry I’m annoying. xD)

    LOL, but man.. Idk how I feel about eating kangaroo meat. That picture talking about kangaroos being t-rex deers does make me feel better about thinking about it… But man. lol. xD Where does one even buy kangaroo meat?!

    • What, you mean my package of chili never arrived at your house?! Curse you mail man!! haha 😉
      Dude you would love it. It’s SO weird, but tastes so amazing. I have to admit, I thought of you when I wrote this since you’ve been trying all of those new exotic foods while you’ve been abroad!! You have some brave tastebuds girlfran! 😀

  2. Since we are friends, I feel it’s OK to say this post scared the bajeebus outta me!! I totally dig your desire for exotic meats though! I also appreciate the “real food” aspect of this meal. 🙂

Chitter Chatter

