Wanderlust Wednesday: Grand Teton and Yellowstone, WY 2007

Grand Teton and Yellowstone National Parks

Summer 2007 and 2009

wanderlust wed - Copy

Hello out there!! I’m alive!!

I feel like I owe y’all a little life update: I took the GRE and passed the pre-req’s for my grad programs of interest, had a few job interviews, and have started the application process to grad schools, so things have been busy in these parts! So I feel like I’ve neglected ze blog a bit, especially on the Wanderlust Wednesday posts. So I’ve changed up the theme (still working on it a little) and am back to it! 🙂

~~~~~

Prior to my family and I’s adventure at Goosewing Dude Ranch, we trekked around Teton National Park, Jackson Hole, Wyoming and Yellowstone National Park!  To this day, it remains as one of my favorite parts of the country. It’s just so pristine and breath-taking– if you’ve never ventured to Wyoming, I encourage you to check it out. My family and I visited Yellowstone for a second time when we were driving through Western states on a college tour, so I’ve included pictures of the park from that adventure as well. No matter how many times you visit, there always seems to be something new and exciting to discover!

I apologize in advance for the quality of some of these pictures, I had a disposable camera for the majority of the trip and then put the pictures in a scrapbook.

Grand Teton and Jackson Hole

Jackson Hole is probably my favorite town EVER. I remember flying into the tiny airport on a little propeller jet; seeing the HUGE Tetons fill up every inch of my window. I was hooked before I even set foot on Wyoming soil. It’s like taking a time machine back to the Old West–stagecoaches and carriages for rides, game meat and big steaks at every restaurant, horses, saloons, cowboy boots galore. We loved everything about it! The town is about 20 minutes or so from Teton National Park, so it’s a great place to spend the night. We stayed just north at a place called The Hatchet Inn Resort–super friendly, gorgeous, and convenient. You could see the Tetons from the breakfast room, just inviting you to come explore! Besides the Tetons, I think Jenny Lake was my favorite spot we visited in the park. It was so quiet and the water was crystal clear! 

Jackson Hole Grand Teton Natl Park Jenny Lake

Yellowstone National Park (2007)

We chose to visit the iconic Old Faithful first. Scientists have almost timed when the geyser blows to the minute, so people wait anywhere from 35-120 minutes to see it’s glory. We drove up and started walking toward the viewing platform and right as we got situated, it blew!! Our timing was perfect haha! Some people approached us afterward and said we were lucky because they’d been waiting almost an hour! It was pretty spectacular to see how high the plumes of scalding liquid flew.

Old Faithful

The Lower and Upper Falls in the park’s Grand Canyon were also one of our favorite spots. The roaring water was breathtaking. We also saw a lot of bison, elk, coyotes, and chipmunks! 🙂

Lower Falls

But perhaps the greatest place I’ve ever been in my entire existence was Artist Point. VERY aptly named! I remember turning the corner and see the most picturesque scene my eyes had ever witnessed. I remember thinking to myself, “if I got blind tomorrow, I’m glad I saw this.” The colors of the canyon, the roaring waterfall, the serene treeline surrounding the rushing water; it was spectacular!! Pictures don’t do it justice!

6-Artist's Point

Yellowstone National Park (2009)

In 2009 on my college tour trip, we entered Yellowstone from the North. The Roosevelt Arch greeted us, as well as some amazing mountains. It was cool to see the park from a new perspective!

7-Yellowstone 2009

We had to get through the park before it closed and we didn’t want to get trapped, so we weren’t able to take a lot of time to stop. We did, however, see more bison that two years prior and still enjoyed the scenery.

Yellowstone 2009 Yellowstone 2009

About midday, there was a huge traffic jam and as we sat idle, we assumed it was probably a bison hogging the road. But I saw people start grabbing cameras frantically and some even getting out of their cars. Off in the wooded distance, I saw why they were so excited…

Bear! Yellowstone 2009

A black bear!!!!!! 😀 WICKED AWESOME! We’d never seen a bear before and felt so giddy to witness one, even without a lot of time in the park. Some weirdos kept walking toward the bear with their camera (and you wonder why people get gored or mauled) but eventually scared him off and he ran deep into the pines. Definitely a sight I’ll never forget!

The sun started setting, so we put the pedal to the metal and were able to make it out of the park just in the nick of time. But before we exited, I managed to get a fleeting “out of the car window” shot of the majestic Tetons and the sunset. To this day, I get chills thinking of the grandeur and beauty those mountains possess.

11-Sunset at the Tetons

You sure get great views from the roads in these parks, but I regret not really exploring places people rarely visit. Since I do a lot more hiking now, I would definitely love to return and hit up some of the trails!

2 Comments

  1. You would get along with ALL my hiking partners when it comes to bears. I am like “no way, I DO NOT want to see one,” and they’re all like, “I HOPE WE SEE A BEAR.” From afar of course, but still!

    CONGRATS ON THE GRE YOU GOOOOO GIRL! As always you know I love this post! I also love the new blog look.

Chitter Chatter

