Wanderlust Wednesday: New York City 2012

New York City at Christmas

December 2012

wanderlust wed - Copy

Since tomorrow marks the 13th anniversary of 9/11, I thought I’d post a special Wanderlust Wednesday that features the memorial dedicated to the heroes, victims, and witnesses on that tragic day. I’ll never forget sitting in my 4th grade classroom, hearing my teacher tell us something terrible happened in New York. My dad did a lot of traveling for work back then, and I prayed he wasn’t on one of the planes or in the World Trade Center. The feeling of helplessness and fear was overwhelming. Although a horrendous tragedy, I feel our country truly became the “United” States as we came together to support the victim’s families and the city of New York. Visiting the memorial brought back so many memories and left me speechless; truly a beautiful commemoration to those amazing souls. So tomorrow, I encourage you to take a moment of silence on behalf of those that lost their lives. May their souls feel the love and respect we’re sending their way.

I guess I should give a little background to this trip before I dive into the pictures. Every year, my dad’s work has a Christmas party in New York City. In 2012, I finished finals early, so I was able to accompany them to the big apple! We’d visited when I was about 8 and saw the Statue of Liberty, China Town, the Empire state building, Beauty and the Beast on Broadway, all that stuff, but I’d never seen the city during one of the busiest times of year. It was quite an experience and I was able to knock some things off of my bucket list while I was there! 😀

Short on time, but not short on fun, we packed a lot of adventure into two days!

Taking a stroll around Central Park and meeting Balto…

Central Park

Catching Lion King on Broadway (SPECTACULAR SHOW!!)…

Lion King on Broadway

Browsing FAO Schwartz toy store and walking around Times Square…

Times Square

Eating at PB&Co and having the greatest peanut butter pickle sandwich of my ENTIRE LIFE. This was pre-celiac, but I definitely got glutened. IT WAS WORTH EVERY BITE haha

PB&Co

Seeing the 9/11 memorial, Survivor Tree, murals and Freedom Tower being built…

911 memorial Survivor Tree and Freedom Tower

And finally, seeing the beautifully lit tree at Rockefeller center! It was jammed, but so worth it!!

rockefellar (2) rockefellar

While I’m not a big city kind of person, New York is definitely a cool place to visit! There’s never a dull moment in the concrete jungle! 😀

2 Comments

  1. NYC is such an amazing place! You certainly need at least a week to go exploring and really get a feel for it, in my opinion. I’m grateful that I got to at least visit the city for a couple of days! But I do plan on returning in the future…there is still so much I have yet to do there! And of course, many restaurants are waiting for me to cross them off my foodie bucket list 😉 !

Chitter Chatter

