Life Updates

Whoa! Sorry for my random “fall-off-the-face-of-the-earth” absence; it’s been awhile since I’ve made a post here. I promise I’m still alive!!!

source

Life has been fantastic. Busy but fantastic!

I feel like I owe anyone who’s still reading a few updates on the homefront:

WORK: I snagged a part time job at local Vitamin Shoppe and have been LOVING every millisecond of it. My co-workers/managers are awesome, I’m learning a ton about supplementation as well as interacting with people, and I feel so accepted among friends who share similar goals. I wouldn’t trade it for the world! God’s timing is truly perfect.

work face

SCHOOL: I’m still focusing on going to grad school next fall and have a phone interview next week with the professor I’ve been talking to for the past 6ish months. So excited to hear about the available projects he’s got lined up! 🙂 After taking time off from academics, I’m ready to get back to learning and being a fish geek haha!

HOLIDAY SEASON: Thanksgiving and Christmas are coming….ummmmm WHAT?! I’m in the biggest time warp in the history of ever. I’m just now getting used to the fact I have swap my shorts for pants when I go outdoors. It SNOWED here earlier this week. WTF TEXAS?!?! Also sorta started the Christmas shopping process, but I’ve been a major slacker haha

snow

VOLUNTEERING: There’s a cool wildlife refuge/museum near my neighborhood, so I signed up to volunteer with animal care and special events. I’ve only been able to go once due to my work schedule, but it was cool! I look forward to going when I get more down time.

GYM: Training has been AMAZING. I really feel like I’m becoming more in-tune with my RPE as well as my mind-muscle connection. My mental state is better than it’s been in eons and I couldn’t be more appreciative to my coach for helping work through negative thoughts that occasionally try to creep in my noggin. A lot of those thoughts stem from getting frustrated at myself since it’s been hard putting on weight (I mean heck I’m maintaining on 575g carbs a day). Celiac probably doesn’t help, but I officially have the metabolism of a 9 year old boy. By focusing on my overall progress rather than tiny snapshots from month to month, I’ve been able to keep a lot of negativity at bay. (Sorry for the picture of me in my skivvies). Just gotta keep eating hard, training hard, and resting hard to get to the stage *hopefully* at the end of next year.

progress

So that’s about it, nothing too crazy exciting. I wish I could say I got abducted by aliens or was a stunt double in a movie or something haha! I’m just eager to get back on the Wanderlust Wednesday train 🙂 I still have some hikes to recap from Arizona, so be on the lookout for new posts soon!

Thanks to anyone who’s still reading! Wishing everyone a wonderful Thanksgiving! 🙂

source

2 Comments

Chitter Chatter

